All Events

Dear Carmencita
July 12 – August 5

The Art Institute of Chicago, the Chicago Athletic Association hotel, Johalla Projects and Land and Sea Dept. are excited to collaborate on Dear Carmencita, a pop-up bar experience at Chicago Athletic Association hotel, celebrating the Art Institute’s exhibition, “John Singer Sargent and Chicago’s Gilded Age.”

Open July 12 – August 5, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights (plus closing Sunday) from 5pm-Midnight.

Take a look at the full list of bar programming below, and click each event for details and times.

Thursday, July 12: Opening Night Soiree
Friday, July 13: Watercolor Workshop & Professional Headshots
Saturday, July 14: Olfactory Science with Aroma Workshop
Thursday, July 19: Curator Talk & Gilded Makeovers
Friday, July 20: Dog Night & Pet Portraiture
Saturday, July 21: World’s “Fare” Night
Thursday, July 26: Gallery Gathering, Silent Auction & DJ Set
Friday, July 27: Vintage Sample Sale & Nail Art
Saturday, July 28: Print Pop-Up Market
Thursday, August 2: Portraiture Talk & Figure Drawing
Friday, August 3: Live Music feat. Devil in a Woodpile
Saturday, August 4: 1890’s Pre-Game, Diva Karaoke & Gilded Ballads
Sunday, August 5: Flamenco Performances, Salsa Lessons & DJ


Press Inquiries: Carrie Sloan, Land and Sea Dept. | carrie@landandseadept.com